Every Licensed, Approved, and Registered child care provider and those that receive funds from the Child Care Development Block Grant (CCDBG) are required to complete comprehensive background checks. In South Carolina the law states the following about those who need to have background checks:

  1. To be employed by or to provide caregiver services at a childcare facility licensed, registered, or approved under this subarticle, a person first shall undergo a state fingerprint-based background check to be conducted by the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) to determine any state criminal history, a fingerprint based background check to be conducted by the Federal Bureau of Investigation to determine any other criminal history, a Central Registry check to be conducted by the department to determine any abuse or neglect perpetrated by the person upon a child, and a search of the National Crime Information Center (NCIC) National Sex Offender Registry and the state sex offender registry pursuant to Section 23–3–430.
  2. The person shall be subject to a state criminal register or repository check, a state sex offender check, and a state child abuse and neglect registry and database check in each state where the person has lived in the previous five years.

Fingerprints

State and Federal Fingerprints are completed and reviewed by the DSS Office of Inspector General for those seeking employment in South Carolina.  State and Federal Fingerprints are required before employment and every 5 years thereafter.  

In-State Abuse and Neglect Central Registry and Database Check

A state criminal register or repository check, a state sex offender check, and a state child abuse and neglect registry and database check are conducted by the Department of Social Services’ Child Care Licensing office.  The check includes a review of the In-State Abuse and Neglect Central Registry and Database to determine if an applicant was ever listed as the perpetrator in an abuse or neglect Central Registry and Database check. If listed in the Central Registry or the Database as a perpetrator, the applicant could be prohibited from employment in child care.  

Out-of-State Abuse and Neglect Central Registry and Database Check

When a child care staff person has lived in one or more states other than South Carolina within the previous 5 years, a check of the Out-of-State Abuse and Neglect Central Registry and Database for each of those other states is conducted.

State and National Sex Offender Check

A search of the NCIC National Sex Offender Registry and the State sex offender registry are conducted at the same time as the state criminal register or repository check, a state sex offender check, and a state child abuse and neglect registry and database check.

Fingerprint information

Child Care Licensing only accepts electronic fingerprints through IdentoGo for child care providers who require a State and Federal background check.

After you receive your facility ID number from the regional office that monitors your facility, you must schedule your appointment with IdentoGo online at https://www.identogo.com/ or by calling 1-866-254-2366.  Multiple fingerprint sites are available.

IMPORTANT:

  • Each facility has a unique facility ID number that is required to schedule an appointment and specific to that child care facility. DO NOT SHARE this number with any other facility or entity.  Facilities should contact their local Regional Office to get a copy or with other questions.
  • Please be sure to select the Agency’s ORI Number: [SC920090Z – DSS Child Care] when scheduling an appointment with IdentoGo. NOTE: if correct ORI number is not used this will cause a delay in results and a possible need to be re-fingerprinted.
  • A Social Security Number and a state-issued identification card, such as a Driver’s License, is required to be fingerprinted.

For more information click here.

Offenses for fingerprints that will prevent individuals from serving as child care providers

63–13–40 (A) (1) SOUTH CAROLINA CHILDREN’S CODE

(a) a crime listed in Chapter 3, Title 16, Offenses Against the Person;

(b) a crime listed in Chapter 15, Title 16, Offenses Against Morality and Decency;

(c) the crime of contributing to the delinquency of a minor, contained in Section 16–17–490;

(d) unlawful conduct toward a child, as provided for in Section 63–5–70;

(e) cruelty to children, as provided for in Section 63–5–80;

(f) child endangerment, as provided for in Section 56–5–2947;

(g) (i) the felonies classified in Section 16–1–10(A), except that this prohibition does not apply to Section 56–5–2930, the Class F felony of driving under the influence if the conviction occurred at least ten years prior to the application for employment and the following conditions are met:

(A) the person has not been convicted in this State or any other state of an alcohol or drug violation during the previous ten-year period;

(B) the person has not been convicted of and has no charges pending in this State or any other state for a violation of driving while his license is canceled, suspended, or revoked during the previous ten-year period; and

(C) the person has completed successfully an alcohol or drug assessment and treatment program provided by the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services or an equivalent program designated by that agency;

(ii) a person who has been convicted of a first-offense violation of Section 56–5–2930 must not drive a motor vehicle or provide transportation while in the official course of his duties as an employee of a childcare center, group childcare home, family childcare home, or church or religious childcare center;

(iii) if the person subsequently is convicted of, receives a sentence upon a plea of guilty or of nolo contendere, or forfeits bail posted for a violation of Section 56–5–2930 or for a violation of another law or ordinance of this State or any other state or of a municipality of this State or any other state that prohibits a person from operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, drugs, or narcotics, the person’s employment must be terminated;

(h) the offenses enumerated in Section 16–1–10(D) if the crime was a felony or if the victim was a minor;

(i) a violent crime listed in Section 16–1–60 if the crime was a felony or if the victim was a minor; or

(j) a criminal offense similar in nature to the crimes listed in this subsection committed in other jurisdictions or under federal law.

Abuse and Neglect Central Registry

Select the type of Abuse and Neglect Central Registry and Database check that applies from the following list.

Select only ONE. Please use our Online Central Registry Portal, as instructed, to complete your Abuse and Neglect Central Registry request for reliable submission. Click here for the Quick Reference Guide to help you navigate the New Central Registry and Database Provider Portal.

Still not sure which form to use?  Please contact Child Care Licensing at (803) 898-9020 or centralofficechildcare@dss.sc.gov

Consent to Release Information and Compliance Statement (DSS Form 2924) for the operator, all caregivers, and all Household Members over the age of 18.  Use full names (no initials) on these forms. 

  • Create an account on the Online Central Registry Portal to complete forms OR mail your forms to: 

         SCDSS

         Child Care Licensing Central Office

         PO Box 1520, Columbia, SC 29202-1520

How to appeal In-State Abuse and Neglect Registry and Database results:

The child care staff person’s In-state Abuse and Neglect Central Registry and Database results are sent to the Director of the child care facility. The results state whether the individual is cleared to work in a facility or is prohibited from working in a facility. To ensure confidentiality, no other information is provided to the Director.

If the individual chooses to appeal the In-State Abuse and Neglect Central Registry and Database results, he/she may do so by contacting the DSS County Office where the results of the findings were made.

How to appeal Out-of-State Abuse and Neglect Registry and Database results:

The child care staff person’s Out-of-State Abuse and Neglect Central Registry and Database results are sent to the Director of the child care facility. The results state whether the individual is cleared to work in a facility or is prohibited from working in a facility. To ensure confidentiality, no other information is provided to the Director.

If the individual chooses to appeal the Out-of-State Abuse and Neglect Central Registry and Database results, he/she may do so by contacting the corresponding state’s Abuse and Neglect Office for further guidance.

Offenses for Abuse and Neglect that will prevent individuals from serving as a child care provider

DSS Regulation No. 114-503 K (1) (c)

No child care center shall employ or retain an individual who has been determined to have committed an act of child abuse or neglect

  • If you have been indicated, founded, or if you have a substantiated case of abuse or neglect, you cannot work in child care.

Contact Us

If you have any questions or concerns about the background check process, please contact us at: